Home Forums General Discussion Forum Watson-KeeLess gravity clock, English, circa 1920’s

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    cazclocker
    Participant

Hi, I haven’t posted here for a while – I’m still a perpetual newbie and I haven’t been working with my clocks for a while. But my new overhaul project has got me stymied! I have an old English-made clock that is so simple (only 4 wheels and a pinion) it’s hard to see why I should be having so much trouble getting it to run. It’s a very simple movement that depends on a “rack & pinion” scheme to provide impulse. The problem is that it DID run fairly well for several years after I bought it just as it is. It quit working when I disassembled it for cleaning/oiling/overhaul! So I’m admitting right up front to being the cause of the problem! :?

It was made in the 1920’s by an English company named Watson, then kept producing them when the firm changed its name to KeeLess Clock Co. I will post pictures later, after I upload them to my PhotoBucket account.

…Doug in Prescott Valley, AZ

PS…psst, hey Bob! Have you ever repaired one of these clocks?

Bob Tascione

Hi Doug,
        Yes I have. Many years ago I had a friend that collected gravity clocks as well as Bulle, Hip and any other electro mechanical impulse clocks. He would bring them by the shop to adjust and mess around with. I definitely developed a love-hate relationship with all of them! :) At least the gravity clocks being purely mechanical didn’t have all the relays and coils to drive me nuts with. He did have a beautiful collection of gravity clocks.
        Looking forward to seeing the pics.

Adios for now,
        Bob

Bob Tascione

Hey Doug