Home Forums General Discussion Forum Watchrepair. Where do I find help?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    disciple_dan
    Participant

I’m studying to do my first watch repair and I wanted to purchase a watch to learn on. I’ve read on other sites that the Westclox Scotty is a bad choice for the beginner. Guess what? I Ordered one last night for 13.56 before I read the warning.
      What would be a good, cheap, nonworking watch to learn to take apart and reassemble?
      I don’t see much watch talk on the Board index. Am I in the wrong place for watches? Thanks, disciple_dan

jhargrove77
      Participant

Welcome aboard Danny. No, you’re in the right place. Don’t get discouraged if you don’t get a response back right away. You’ll be able to get some very good advise here about watches, just be patient. As for what watch to start with…. Well, like you, I’m a total newbie. I started working on clocks a few years back and decided to try my hand at fixing some of my wife’s grandfather’s pocket watches. Unfortunately, she talked me into starting on a vintage Omega bracelet watch for her. DO NOT start with a bracelet watch. It’s about the same diameter as a dime. It can be done but very frustrating. Start with the largest pocket watch you can obtain of good quality. Find one that is complete. You don’t want to be trying to hunt down missing parts. My suggestion would be to start with jeweled watches and not brass bushing ones. A little less to worry about if the jewels are in good shape. Also try to find one with a crystal intact. Once again, less to worry about. I would also suggest an American watch to start with. They can be a little less expensive. A good Elgin or Waltham or Hamilton would be a good place to start. Like I said, I’m a newbie also and I’m sure one of the gurus on here will correct anything I’ve suggested so just keep checking back. Good luck.

jim

disciple_dan
        Participant