Home Forums General Discussion Forum Slightly Destroyed

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    chris mabbott
    Participant

Well, so much for my first venture into the clock world. I thought this was going to be a wind and enjoy, followed by a spa day lol
      Instead it seems that I have a complete rebuild to do, nothing like being thrown in the deep end!
      The good news is that the glass is intact and it seems that the case simply fell apart in transit as there are no damages to the box it came in, so in effect, zero broken wood, just apart.

Although I’m no newbie to wood work, Jesus the carpenter I ain’t LOL so any tips from my more seasoned manipulators of natures Co2 filters would as always…. , be taken under serious consideration 😆

arutha
      Participant

Nothing to worry about there Chris, just put the bits back together to check when it is glued you won’t have any unsightly gaps. I am not so good on American clocks but I know a lot of the old English clocks were held together with animal glue, bit smelly but a great glue. If you are not that fussy and just want it back together then PVA glue is fine. Sash clamps will come in quite handy. Dont touch the original finish of the wood, there are plenty of finish restorers out there that do a great job. I have a great recipe for one, I will dig it out.
        The minute hand looks like it was much too long and has been bent to fit the dial. Do a bit of research on google images and see what the original hands should have looked like. If you can’t find a pair in the supply houses then someone here might have a spair pair.
        You can buy paper dials to go over the original if you want to go that way but I would leave it original. There is nothing worse I feel than a brand new looking antique.