Home Forums General Discussion Forum Lathe motors…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 40 total)
  • Author
    tmac1956
    Participant

All:

I have purchased a used Watchmakers Levin 8MM lathe with collet holding tailstock with a stand, but no motor or foot pedal. Since I’m just getting started, I have a couple of questions.

1. Where can one get a good new or rebuilt motor/foot pedal outside of eBay?
      2. What should the hourse power be?
      3. What pulleys should it have?
      4. Should it be reversable?

Please feel free to provide any additional info that you deem important.

Thank you SOOOOO much in advance for any help you can provide.

tmac1956

david pierce
      Participant

tmac 1956,
        The best motor for the least amount of money is a common sewing machine motor. You can usually buy these from a local sewing machine store or if you go to a pawn shop you can buy an entire sewing machine for around $25.00 . Then you can remove the motor and foot pedal and throw the rest of the machine away. You can also buy a motor and pulley from TAIG for around $110.00. For $200.00 you can get a fantastic motor with pulleys from SINCERE or MERLIN.
        Is your LEVIN a ball bearing or cone bearing lathe?
        david

tmac1956
        Participant

david:

I hate to show my ignorance, but I honestly didn’t know that there was anything but ball bearings. I got it on eBay – here’s the description.