Home Forums General Discussion Forum Lathe Advice

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    dulwich2410
    Participant

Hi all,
      I’m a newbie to this forum & a bit overwhelmed by all the experts in horological repairs!
      A brief outline about myself. I’ve had an interest in antique clocks for some 40 years and have collected some along the way – only based on looks, not value. Some fell in to disrepair so I decided to start a repair course at my local college. I am now carrying out some repairs myself, bushing etc and since watching the Bob Tascione lathe DVD, I think it is now time to buy one.
      The age old question is what and where to buy one. I am totally confused! Should I buy a 3 jaw chuck or 8mm collets, and what accessories does one need? I’ve been on many websites (EBay etc) only to find that here in the UK a lathe 30/40 years old out budded a brand new one! I just have no idea what I am/should be buying! I was thinking of a new Sherline model, which Bob Tascione seems to like, but others don’t.
      Any advice on this dilemma would be much appreciated.
      Many thanks in advance,
      John

willofiam

Hey John….No reason to be overwhelmed or intimidated on this forum, I am sure we all put our pants on the same way, though David may start with the left leg first….he is still a nice guy :D I hear yah about figuring out the lathe dilemma, it took me a long time before I made my first purchase, even then I have sold and switched to different styles and sizes…..
        I can honestly tell you I am not finished yet either 🙄 (please dont tell my wife)