Home Forums Member Shop Pics. “Catskillpainter”

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    catskillpainter
    Participant

Hello everyone ! I’ll use this topic to introduce myself. I’m Jamison Smith. I live in Catskill, New York. I work on clocks when I’m not at my day job, or engaging in some sort of Ebay terrorism. I buy,restore,and sell clocks.I have a preference for cuckoos and American mantle clocks. Eventually, I’d like to start a retail clock repair business here in Catskill. For many years, I’ve been an amateur artist working in both traditional and digital mediums. My painting experience has proven very helpful in restoring and re-inventing clock cases and dials. I’ve been tinkering with clocks and watches for a few years now, but I’ve recently decided to get more serious about the clock work. Several years ago, I had the Tascione watch course on DVD. I made a lot of progress in learning to repair watches, but I eventually decided that clocks were a better fit for me. The clock course and the lathe course have both been extremely helpful, along with a thick stack of books that I’ve been working my way through. This seems like the perfect place to get to know some people who share my passion for old clocks, old tools, and countless hours happily spent in the shop !

catskillpainter
      Participant

This used to be the master bedroom. I chose it for my shop as it has really nice built in cabinets. Please don’t assume based on this photo that I’m capable of either repairing or paying for Atmos clocks,as neither is actually the case ( I bought it cheap and still regret it ). That old Ingraham mantle clock is more my pace.

catskillpainter
        Participant

In a world of high tech precision machinery, I have chosen to work with the equivalent of a 1958 Edsel. Don’t get me wrong; I love my Unimat ! The .0005in dial is only there to prove that I have a sense of humor.

catskillpainter
          Participant