Home Forums General Discussion Forum Winding up an automatic watch.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    edwardny
    Participant

Hello all. I’m new to this —-> welcome Ed! <—- Thank you!
      I’ve been buying/selling/trading mostly Russian gold watches for quite a few years now (Poljot, Raketa, Sekonda, etc.) – but my watchmaker has moved and being mostly technical I decided to work on all of my watches myself. I bought Bob’s video course and it’s priceless!!!! So I have completely put apart my first non-working automatic Russian Poljot watch for a client (movement #2616 2H), washed it, oiled it, put it back together and it started working again – it’s the most beautiful thing!!! But here is my question. I thought I did all correctly however, in automatic watches, if you decide to wind it up manually, you can keep on winding forever and it’ll never stop like manual wind up watches do. So after I put the watch together the auto winding mechanism works but when you wind up manually as well, it’ll eventually get to the point where the main spring cannot go no more and stop. What did I do wrong when I put it back together? I know it’s a rather dumb question without movement pics and more info but I’m sure some of you pros know exactly the technology used on automatic movements and what keep the winder go forever and not stop when spring is too tight. I hope I explained it correctly. Any suggestion would be appreciated.
      Many thanks.

Bob Tascione

Hi Ed and WELCOME TO THE FORUM!
        Happy to hear you like the course and congratulations on servicing your first watch.