Home Forums General Discussion Forum winding stem?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    watchthebear
    Participant

HI, real newbie here. I have watched the watch repair videos about 4 times and decided to start in. I got 2 pocket watches–large ones–a waltham and an elgin, and i begin following the video to get them apart and find out and deal w/ whatever caused them not to run. I hit a wall right away. I got as far as removing the movement from the case. At that point, where on Mr. Fascione’s video the crown and stem came off w/ the case, my stem just stayed put; it is about 5/8’s of an inch longer than the watch in the video, and it won’t move. I can make it wind, i let out the main spring tension, but there is no way i can see to get the stem seperate from the movement. There are some little plates around where the first winding gear is, but i haven’t touched anything. I don’t know how to show pictures, but this must be so common that someone will know right away what i am confromted w/. thanks in advance……………………bear

Bob Tascione

Welcome to the forum Bear!

Sorry, it could just be me but I’m not too sure if I’m understanding the problem and would probably need more info about the watches like the size and type of case and possibly the movement model number if you’re not able to add a pic. Are you saying that the stem stays in the movement after the movement has been removed from the case rather than staying in the case? Pictures would really help us. If you have a digital camera then there’s a post here at the forum that will explain how to upload a pic to the forum at http://clockrepairtips.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=317.
        If a pic isn’t possible then some or all of the info I mentioned above might do the trick.

Again welcome Bear,
        Bob

watchthebear
        Participant