Home Forums General Discussion Forum Turns/ lathe

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    randy
    Participant

So I’m looking at an old set of turns.( I was born 100 years too late , and I’m of German descent, so we HAVE TO do it the difficult way ..ok, joking aside I like the idea of the control you get with a bow driven setup) But I’m also getting the idea that I need a lathe eventually. Lots of choices, so I’m turning to all of you for some help in what to look for.
      8MM appears to be the popular size, but outside the basic lathe/motor set up, what do I need for a starter setup ? Collets I’m guessing, a tip over rest, wax chuck, etc. Can I safely piece this together so long as I know that the lathe is tight ??? Any direction is greatly appreciated…
      Randy

willofiam

Hey Randy, I too am of German decent, soooo that explains what my wife has been telling me for years 🙄 I am no expert on the lathes but I do think you have to be careful about what fits on your lathe bed and the height of center from that, say…. if you bought a tail-stock, or a steady rest ect…. I asked the same question on here some time ago, check out the forum for past subjects on the lathe. Bob is the guy to get good advice and he has recommended to me a Sherline, also mentioning the setups from overseas being pretty good and reasonably priced but I havent heard anything else. But as you may know, blaming my descendents,,, :D I ended up with a 8mm Boley and a Unimat. I use the Boley for most things, I like lathe work by hand (former wood turning on the lathe) and Bobs videos are pretty good explaining how the jewelers lathe can do most of what you need. I have a good assortment of collets and have added some, all different name brands, and have made other lathe parts. I am a clock guy and it looks like you may be working on watches so there may be things that you smarter guys would use than me ;) . Keep an eye out for the whole kit and kaboodl