Home Forums General Discussion Forum Testing movement and letting down mainspring

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    mugs001
    Participant

I have an Elgin movement, serial number 2725168. I’m in the stage of testing it and I can’t seem to wind or set it. It looks like its pendant wind/set. I have a bench key which fits the sleeve where the stem would go (pics # one and two, green 3). When I insert the key there is a small lever in between the plates (pic # one & two, red 1) which clicks into a position up against a kind of pillar that is underneath the balance cock. In that position, when I wind in either direction I can neither set the hands nor do I hear or feel any clicking of the mainspring. I’m a beginner so bear with me; I’m not sure whether that position is winding or setting. I can turn the bench key a bit in either direction but as there is no clicking, unwinding, or setting I don’t want to turn it much as I’m afraid I might strip something.
      When I push in the little tab (pic # one & two, black 2) on the side of the watch the small lever (red 1) clicks back away from the pillar (as shown in pic # one, sorry I mixed those up. It’s labeled Picture_ one but actually the second pic in the post).
      As it seemed to not wind or set and I thought that I would start to disassemble it. I know that I should let down the mainspring but I can’t see how to do that. I read in another post here that is a small hole (pic # three, purple 4) on the side and that a pin inserted into the hole can release a click so that the bench key can be turned slowly as pressure is released on the mainspring. Is that the hole people are talking about? I tried that but nothing seems to happen. I am pushing a thin needle firmly into the hole while holding the bench key in the sleeve. Same thing as before, the key does not turn either direction (well, it does but only if I force it).