Home Forums General Discussion Forum Swiss PW MC Jacot Geneve

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    hank7421
    Participant

I was able to open up the back, as you can see from the pictures, but I couldn’t figure out how to open the front cover. I tried pushing down on the crown, but it doesn’t move. Can anyone tell me where I can get information about this PW? I would like to restore it. The watch can be wound, but it doesn’t run. I suspect something wrong with the hair spring or balance pivot, but I need to remove the movement which I’m sure has to come out the front. Appreciate any suggestions. I have never worked on one of these before. I don’t even know where I would get the parts for it.

randy
      Participant

Hank,
        Maybe I’m not seeing it correctly..but does there appear to be a hinged side to the front bezel ? If not, ( and I don’t see one ), maybe the front screws off.
        Would be weird as it has a back that swings open..but just a thought.

The other possibility is that the hinge is jammed. I see that there’s a pretty good dent in the rim of the case, as though it was dropped. Could be that the concussion pinched the release pawl to the rim, keeping the front cover from opening ?

Not sure where to find parts..there are many varieties of the Jacot movements in the 1800’s.

Best of luck buddy

Randy

hank7421
        Participant

High Randy, it’s good to hear from you again. It’s hard to see in the picture, but the front cover is hinged. Any ideas how to un-jam the release mechanism? I was thinking of spraying the Pendant with WD40 to see if it might work it’s way in to lubricate the stem to get it to go up and down. Is there a way to force the cover open? I’m open to any suggestions.

randy
          Participant