Home Forums General Discussion Forum solid gold Bulova Accutron 218 with Date

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    lancederderian22
    Participant

Hi everyone.

I’m just starting out on learning how to take care and repair watches. I’m 46 years old.
      I have a Bulova Accutron 218 with date, 1966 or M6, and just replaced the battery in it and it doesn’t seem to work. It was working 7 years ago, but since
      then it has just been sitting. It was my dad’s watch and he passed away when I was 6 years old and so it means a lot to me.
      How can I go about troubleshooting to figure out where the problem may be and get this watch working again? :(

Thank you for any help with this.

Bob Tascione

Hi Lance and welcome to the forum!
        I’ll touch on a couple of simple things you can try right away. If this doesn’t do the trick then there’s a link below to a helpful PDF file for the Accutron 218 Service Manual that I highly recommend reading (and it’s FREE at archive.org).
        First thing is to make sure the battery is inserted with the negative side facing up. Then try tapping the side of the case with your finger. This will often get a stubborn tuning fork etc. started. If it keeps going you’re in business. If not then there could be a number of reasons for stopping, either electrical or mechanical. You can test the cell coil with an Ohm meter. The cell coil is the one nearest the battery. If you get a reading when set to measure resistance then the coil is ok, if not then it’s bad.
        Hopefully this helps out but if not then I suggest reading that pdf as it will help explain things much better than I can do up here on the forum.
        Here’s the link:
        http://www.archive.org/details/Accutron218ServiceManual

Please let us know how things work out Lance,
        Enjoy!
        Bob

lancederderian22
        Participant

Thanks for getting back to me so soon Bob.