Home Forums General Discussion Forum Should I start repairing watches?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    silverbackmg
    Participant

I started repairing watches about 3 years ago. I began repairing my own collection. Just little things here and there. New crystals, stems, crowns. About a year ago, I became 100% disabled due to a tank accident in the US Army. I was trying to find something for my hands and mind to do. I considered jewelry repair. I decided on watch repair and then went into clock repair. I have been doing this for 9 months now. The first thing that you should do is get a few cheap pocket watches either off the computer or out of the dresser drawer. I went to a few pawn shops and was given two shoe boxes full of pocket and wrist watches. I went to town trying to fix every single one of them. I gave watches to everyone in the family. Getting a few basic tools was second and Tascione Watch repair videos was next. I was consumed with watch repair.
      Tools-You will need a good set of Bergeron Screwdrivers, a movement holder and two or three pair of Dumont tweezers. I have tried off brand screwdrivers and tweezers. First turn with a screwdriver and the blade either twists or breaks. A few sources for tools are: Uncle Larry’s Watch Shop, Cas-ker, Merritt’s, Murrays, Livesay’s, and otto frei. Get the Bergeron set of 9 with the rotating stand. Dumont 6C tweezers, and an adjustable movement holder. You will figure out very quickly if this is for you. I have a full blown set of tools now. It won’t take long for you to know what tools to buy next.