Home Forums General Discussion Forum Seth Thomas Wall Clock

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    chessie62
    Participant

I have a Seth Thomas Wall Clock (chiming) that is powered by weights. When you wind the weights to full height and start the pendulum, it goes for about ten or so seconds and then stops. It looks like the pendulum just loses momentum. I noticed the suspension rod spring has two bends in it, sort of like a lazy “S”. I thought the suspension rods were to be hanging straight. Could this be my problem? I am just beginning to learn clocks so forgive my ignorance. This was a bargain find clock and thought it would be a good first project. Any help would be a blessing.

willofiam

Hey Chessie62 it sounds to me like a loss of power, lack of lubrication or possibly out of beat. If it is lubricated and in beat then there are many things that cause a lack of power. @Chessie62 wrote:

It looks like the pendulum just loses momentum

Gunk, goo, wear, bushings, pivots, ect… could be the culprit. Also being a @Chessie62 wrote:

Seth Thomas Wall Clock

it could depend on the type of movement and escapement it has. Either some photos or an explanation of the condition will help, though being @Chessie62 wrote:

a bargain find clock

it may need many things done for proper function. As for the suspension spring if the pendulum is hanging and it is straight it is probably o.k., if it appears to have a bend in it with the pendulum hanging you want to either straighten it or replace it. Have a great day.

chessie62
        Participant