• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    secondsout
    Participant

Hi All,

I’m a rookie to the forum and to watch repair although I have 30 years technical background in the auto industry and hoping that at least a little of that experience and knowledge will be put to use when working with watches. My general interest is for watches and after many years I’m now interested in taking steps to look closer at the mechanics and hopefully service, repair etc.

I’ve been watching the online course videos and taking in much of the content and theory and I’m interested and keen to get started with some practical work.

Initially I intend to get some job lots of old pocket watches and hand wind wrist watches ( working or not ) and one by one begin to dismantle and reassemble them in order to get used to handling the small parts and tools and get familiar with the moving parts and how they interact with each other within each movement. Maybe I’ll even bring one or two non runners back to life ? I intend to combine my practical work with theory as I go.

Whats the thoughts on this ? Good or bad idea ?

I’m also preparing a small home workshop and although I’m ok with tools I’m interested on feedback regarding loupes and ultrasonic cleaning machines. Is it worth buying aplanatic loupes rather than standard ones ? Is there a significant improvement in vision with an aplanatic to merit buying it ? I’m also looking at ultrasonic cleaning machines and seen advertised for $30 – $40. Are these small cheap ones ok or not ?

Look forward to any replies or advice.

Thanks

tmac1956
      Participant

Rookie: