Home Forums General Discussion Forum Remove Majestime 17 Jewel movement from case?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    hank7421
    Participant

I’m a new student and could use a little help. I acquired a pocket watch to practice on. Unfortunately it is missing the crown and stem and I am not sure how to get the movement out of the case. It is a Majestime 17 Jewel. Any suggestions?

oldmantime
      Participant

Hello Hank7421
        I’m not familiar with the Majestime watch but normally one will find 2 case screws holding the movement in the case. You should be able to replace the crown and stem without removing the movement from the case as long as the set lever and other components used to hold the stem in place are in tack. You might possibly be asking how to remove the movement for another reason like cleaning the movement or for assembly practice which is most likely the case here. If you have a camera on hand and can take a picture of the movement in the case this would be helpful. We can also try to identify the movement so you can order a stem and crown for it if you have not already purchased one.
        Regards
        Peter

hank7421
        Participant

Thank you Peter for your quick reply. Yes, I want to try to take it apart to clean it and then replace any broken or missing parts. I took a picture of it including one looking down the hole of the watch stem but I can’t figure out how to download the picture from my camera into my computer. I’ll try asking people I know. Perhaps I can get the picture onto the forum.

hank7421
          Participant

[IMG_0476/0475]
            I am attempting to post the pictures I took of the Majistime pocket watch. If you see it great, if not, oh well, I tried.

Bob Tascione

Hi Hank7491,