Home Forums General Discussion Forum Re-pivoting

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    jgauntt
    Participant

You have another Newbie here, and I may have gotten in over my head.
      I wanted to learn more about clocks and how to repair them and I can see this being a really fun hobby.
      I have an Elgin mantle clock that needed work and it made a great first project. For my second project I took on an old french clock belonging to a friend. It didn’t work and he used it for decoration sitting on a shelf and we both figured that I could do it no harm. All it needed was a new suspension spring and a good cleaning and oiling and it keeps time great. When I was putting it back together I broke the pivot on the “fan” arbor on the chiming mechanism. The arbor is about 28mm long and about 1mm dia. and the pivot is about 0.5mm. I watched Bob’s lathe video about re-pivoting, got a set of very small drill bits and an assortment of pivot wire, made a “flag” out of a piece of angle aluminum, chucked it all up in my Unimat SL lathe and started trying to drill out the pivot hole in the end of the arbor but I am barely making an indention in the end of the arbor. My question is, is this arbor made of a hardend steel and therefore I’m not using the right type of drill bit? Or am I going about it all wrong?
      Any advice is welcome
      thanks,
      Jack

Bob Tascione

Good to see you here Jack,