Home Forums General Discussion Forum practice milling

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    willofiam

Hey guys, I purchased a used milling machine this last weekend, I am new at using a vertical mill so now I need to learn some techniques on the mill. My questions is what type of material would be best suited for practice without spending a fortune on stock material? Delrin? aluminum? I suppose I would like to actually make something even if by accident, I was leaning towards aluminum. thank you,William

mahlon
      Participant

Hey William, do a search on google for taig lathe machining projects. There are a lot of pretty projects for lathe and milling. He puts pics. and explanations on how to do each one. :) Mahlon

demewill
        Participant

Congratulations on the purchase. What type of mill did you. Buy? I have a Taig mill which has a pretty high speed spindle. I find I can mill both aluminum and plastic easily without any lubricant. It also works fine on steel, but with this lightweight machine feed and speed need to be small and slow. I usually use a 3/16″ cutter for general work. I could use a larger cutter on plastic and aluminum, but the surface speed quickly gets higher than recommended for cutting steel. I also have a fly cutter with a body diameter of 3/4″ and with bit projection it cuts about a 1″ to 1 1/4″ circle. This is great for surfacing work.

Recently I made a couple of watch movement holders (similar to Bergeon 4040) but this material is too soft for this application. Maybe I will use brass the next time.

Practice and learn as you go.

Dan

tmac1956
          Participant

William:

Plastic is very cheap. MSC has a good selection.

Later andd congrats on getting the mill.
            Tom

willofiam