Home Forums General Discussion Forum Orient King Diver automatic wrist watch crown issue.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    jpewslgl
    Participant

Hello all!

I am new to working on watches and have thoroughly enjoyed the online course.

I have an Orient King Diver automatic wrist watch that was stopped and a friend asked me to look at it and see if there was anything I could do. Being a newbie, I told him I would look it over and refer him to someone else if it wasn’t a simple fix.

I removed the back of the case and noted that the balance was not moving. However, when you adjusted the time, the minute hand would move with the second hand for a few seconds and then stop.

I removed the movement from the case by first pressing the small ‘button’ that released the crown. After a careful look under the magnifying glass, I realized that the raised number indicators were impeding the movement of the hands, thus stopping the watch. I removed the hands and replaced them and ‘viola’, the watch started working. Yea!

When I re-installed the movement into the case, and re-inserted the crown, the watch remains in set mode with the crown either pushed in or pulled out. The crown doesn’t push in and disconnect from the set position.

It appears that one of the levers did not re-seat itself onto the crown stem and is staying engaged at all times. Is there any way to adjust this without tearing down the entire movement? I really don’t feel that I have that level of competence yet. I don’t want to refer him to another watch maker just to re-insert the crown stem if it’s something I’m just missing.

I’ve watched the stem & crown videos again, but those adjustments are for pocket watches that have a way to raise or lower the sleeve. This wrist watch doesn’t appear to have that adjustment.

Thank you for your time,
      Jimmy

Bob Tascione

Welcome to the forum Jimmy and congratulations on diagnosing and fixing the hand problem.