Home Forums General Discussion Forum New Member intro

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    sbonder
    Participant

Hi all, Scott here. Just joined and started reading the articles. With regard to watches, I have been collecting on an off for 10 years or so. Currently wearing an Omega 15,000 Gauss and a Glashutte Original Seventies. In terms of tinkering, etc I was a hobbyist woodworker for years and made many rocking horses, toy boxes, etc with a strong focus on hand tools (including some turning). My wife demanded a garage be designated for a car (nuts, I know) so I had to downsize. Been building and flying RC airplanes for several years. The pic below is of my son standing near a scaled out SE5a.

I am now very interested in clock and watch making. I have a 100″ wingspan Corsair to finish up (second pic is of the fuselage of that project). I am also somewhat inclined to make a mechanical wooden geared clock as a first horological related project to help the transition. In the meantime, as is my habit, I am fixating on learning as much as I can about the mechanics of watches and clocks and the tools (I am a total tool hound). Currently reading Daniels’ Watchmaking and these forums. Also browsing the various tool manufacturers. Shereline has thus far caught my attention. I have a personal bias against Ebay, so the stuff there is essentially off limits for me.

Anyway, look forward to participating and thanks in advance for the help.

maitai11
      Participant

Hi Scott –