Home Forums General Discussion Forum New guy here, help identify?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    xxiaze
    Participant

Greetings! New to the passion here and green as could be. I recently purchased a triple chime mantle that has me hooked on mechanics. My first clock, i presume of many. My background is a tradesman and auto mechanic, so naturally the hands on experience suits my platform. Born to tinker! Anywho… I wanted to say hello to everyone, as well as throw a brain pick out there. I will upload pictures of my “new” clock and wanted to know if yall could help me identify its authenticity, year, and mechanical well being etc.

I ordered this clock second hand on ebay. Howard Miller No. 142 #4992 The movement reads “Cuckoo Clock MFG CO INC” which i presume is a Co. branded Hermle model # 1050 020. I suspect after what little background i could find that the original movement was replaced with this one? Movement stamped 1981? Any info on this clock would be awesome, just curious about it.

Upon arrival clock winds fine, but hammers needed adjustment. Clock strikes full through just fine for westminster but fails final note at 1/2 and 3/4 for Whit and St Mich… holds a tooth on the gear and hammer hangs full high stride. Will learn more to correct this as i have no idea what im doing yet. Other than that seems okay… looks kinda dirty though and oil wells appear rather dry.

I am posting a link to google drive picture album here for anything that anyone has the time for in suggestions or background info of this clock. Your time would be much appreciated.

Hope to overhaul the whole movement and get her cleaned up and re oiled. That would be the goal, but im scared ha.

Thanks guys
      Xxiaze

>>>> PHOTOS: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1cEJ5j1RAo_GNv0gU3AKM2O_38m4K-g-R <<<<

Anonymous

Hello Xxiaze,