Home Forums General Discussion Forum Mclark3617 new member

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    mclark3617
    Participant

Hello everyone, I would like to introduce myself, Im a new member, 48 years old Journeyman Machine Builder Tool Maker.
      I have just found and interest in Vintage pocket watches. Im just starting out, so other than Screwdrivers I would be interested
      in hearing opinions about must have starting tools. as soon as my screwdrivers get here im looking forward to digging into my
      first watch.

david pierce
      Participant

Mclark,
        If you watch Bob’s video notice that he did the whole pocket watch disassembly and assembly with a pair of tweezers, an eye loupe and a couple of screwdrivers. Go to the board index and look at the shops these guys have. You do not need to be set up like Steffen Pahlow in order to do good work. Later you may want to get a staking set and on and on until you achieve every watchmaker’s dream; bankruptcy. It will be great to get additional input on machining questions and issues that often come up on this forum. Great to hear from you.
        david

mclark3617
        Participant

Thanks, and rumor has it that your the lathe guy to talk to when i get ready for the bankruptcy..lol.
          Im thinking my first project is gonna involve taking apart a balance. Any sugestions on a staking tool and how mich i should plan on spending,,,they can get ridiculous on Ebay with that stuff.

randy
          Participant

@Mclark3617 wrote:

Thanks, and rumor has it that your the lathe guy to talk to when i get ready for the bankruptcy..lol.
            Im thinking my first project is gonna involve taking apart a balance. Any sugestions on a staking tool and how mich i should plan on spending,,,they can get ridiculous on Ebay with that stuff.

Buy the best/ most complete you can afford