Home Forums General Discussion Forum Mainspring hand winder

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    rauman
    Participant

I am just getting into clock repair and am going slow purchasing tools as needed. I bought one of those hand-held mainspring winders thinking that would do for me until I really got into it but I’m having a problem with one of the first clocks I picked up. This is a Seth Thomas “Sharon” clock with an A-200 movement. I got it disassembled without incident, but when I got to rewinding the mainsprings I found they wouldn’t work with this hand winder. The winder is designed such that the winding post goes through the winder and the great wheel clamps onto the device. However, with this clock the great is positioned at the opposite end of the arbor so that the spring is between the wheel and the winder and the great wheel cannot be clamped down. Can anybody give me some advice on how I might get around this?

I have a friend 25 miles away with an Ollie Baker winder (I’m envious), but I’d like to be able to do this with what I’ve got in my shop if possible, at least for now. I’ve attached a picture of my winder setup.

Bob Tascione

Welcome to the forum RAuman!
        As you’ve discovered early on, these winders do have their limitations. It can still be used to wind and capture that mainspring but it usually takes a third hand to help out. By removing the wheel from the winding arbor and using a let down key (not a regular winding key) it can be wound and captured with a ring. Placing the ring over the spring is where the third hand comes in. Kind of an awkward feeling when doing this though as the doesn’t feel too secure in your hand during winding.