Home Forums General Discussion Forum Main spring assembly

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    chuckc1
    Participant

Hello All,
      My name is Chuck and I am new to the forum. I recently enrolled in Bob’s online course and I am interested in learning clock repair. I do have a question for all and it deals with the re-assembly of a clock main spring.
      During disassembly of the main spring from the main spring arbor, I found the main spring not to be so easy to remove. Using a suggestion from Bob’s video, I used a pick to assist in removing the main spring from the catch. I do not feel I used to much pressure but, as a newbie, I am not aware how much is too much.
      I have cleaned the main spring, and unfortunately, after several falls to the floor and much lint accumulating, it will require another cleaning! My problem is, I am having extreme difficulties in getting the catch to hold the spring. I can see the catch enter the hole in the end but as I begin to wind the spring and pressure is applied at the catch, the spring pops off. I am not sure what to do next. Does anyone have a suggestion? I am open to all and any advice!
      Thanks

willofiam