Home Forums General Discussion Forum Lathe belting blues…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    tmac1956
    Participant

All:

Not being very good at creating a heated joint in plastic lathe belting, I got the bright idea that I would buy an adhesive and give that a try. After all, if they can join O-rings together in such a strong way, it just has to work with plastic lathe belting right? Hmmm…

Well, after a little searching I ran up on a promo video by the LocTite company where the “Glue Guy” glues a piece of plastic hose to a bowling ball and proceeds to sing the praises of their LocTite Gel Super Glue formulated specifically for rubber and plastics while bouncing the ball around to demonstrate just how strong that product is. I think he should have held the thing over his head as it would have been more of a test, but… Well, I’ve never used a LocTite product before, but I’ve heard too many good things about their anaerobic thread locking products to think anything but good of the company. So, off to Lowes I go to pick up a bottle.

After trimming the belt ends square and cleaning them, I followed the directions and placed one drop on one end, and held them together for ten seconds (actually, I went 20 just to be on the safe side). I guess you can see where this is going…

The blasted belt just fell apart under its own weight. So, being ever the optimist, I tried it again just to be sure I didn’t screw it up the first time – same result. Not being deterred, I tried it once more. (What is it they say about repeating the same thing over and over expecting a different result…)

So, now it’s back to the old heated joint. What a perfectly good waste of five bucks. 😡

Just thought I’d share.
      Tom

arutha
      Participant

Hi Tom,
        I tried exactly the same thing with all sorts of different glues, I think one of the super-glues held out the longest, lasted for a whole 15 minutes :)