Home Forums General Discussion Forum Just to say "Hello".

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    chicko
    Participant

I’m a total newbie to watches and clocks…though my father did like to play with them back in the early 1900’s. Maybe my closest horological claim to fame is that I was best school friends with Derek Pratt …..THE horological, (almost legendary as far as I can see), Derek Pratt. I still have a school notebook wherein, after Derek had helped me with some errant homework, the teacher noted,” 0/10…..same as Pratt’s”. Unlike me he went on to excel at his chosen profession. But, also unlike me . he has already passed away. Funny thing, until almost our last day at school, (British kids did not have a formal “Graduation” in those days), I had no idea he was even interested in horology. He and I also vied to be the biggest class dunces at mathematics. Reading some of the mathematical formula on this forum I’m totally amazed at how well Derek must have done in this area.

So, hoping to find help later with this as a hobby, I anticipate Bob’s course being of benefit to me, even if I never intend to make money at it.

willofiam

a hello to you Chicko, and yes, life is a winding path, like the wind, where is it we really come from and to where are we really going :D too short a journey not make the best of it ;) . great to have you aboard, feel free to ask questions and do not be afraid, there is a bunch of caring and helpful people on this forum. If you haven’t already… have a look at past posts for getting started, tools, others experiences ect…real good info. Have a wonderful day, William

bernie weishapl
        Participant

Howdy Chicko. Glad to have you join us. Ask away if you have any questions. Good people on here.

chicko
          Participant