Home Forums General Discussion Forum Howard Miller(Hermle) MSU02 116 cm ????

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    disciple_dan
    Participant

I have really jumped on one now.
      I have a 2003 Howard Miller. It’s a Hermle but doesn’t have the Hermle numbers stamped on it. It has MSU02. Is that a H M number. I’ll try a search on the H M site to see if it comes up. It looks like a 1171.
      Anyway, this one has all the bells and whistles. It has a night shut off feature different from the last one I worked on. Much more sophisticated. I’m studying it closely and taking lots of pics.
      One thing I need help with on disassembly is the cable spools. They are held in with a push on clip that is made to go on one way. It has a tang on each side of the square winding arbor. It slides on easily but when you try to slide it off the tangs bite into the arbor. I”m sure you have all seen them.
      I’m not sure how to get them off in a way that I will be able to use them again. Or do I need to order some of them?
      Heres a couple pics of the movement for your eval.
      Thanks for any help. Danny

disciple_dan
      Participant

I just did a search and found that this movement could be a Kieninger. (And most likely is.) Doesn’t Howard Miller own Kieninger? Please correct me. Thanks
        Yes, and I wanted to add. There are no E clips on the back of the arbors for these spools.

jim1228
        Participant

Hello Danny,
          The MSU02 is a Kieninger movement and yes Howard Miller does own Kieninger of Germany. The retainer clips you are referring to can be pried off however, they are brittle and the little tabs will break off, better to just replace them. It would be best to just pry them up a bit and cut them off. You can purchase more from Timesavers part # 20904 for 30 cents apiece.
          Have an awesome day,
          Jim

disciple_dan
          Participant