Home Forums General Discussion Forum How to begin learning pocket watch repair here?

Tagged: 

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    ERIC
    Participant

I am brand new here (Silver Senior). I need to know where to start, what to watch (no pun intended).

RandyBeamer
      Participant

Welcome to the group Eric !!

Wow…another watch guy…I was getting lonely lately !!

Are enrolled in the Ultra horology course ?…or are you just needing some help with how to approach the basic material, ..tools needed, etc ?

I can help with that

Best regards,

Randy

ERIC
        Participant

Hi, Randy,

Thanks for answering. I am a total newbie. I know zilch about how a pocket watch works or what the parts are or what they are called. I own two very special pocket watches, one is 130+ years old, US made and works (after an expert fixed it). The other is 50 years old and is Swiss. It belonged to my father.

How long does it take to get up to speed and be able to tackle a restoration project? What tools do I need? Are they expensive and where do I get them?

And of course, how to start with instruction?

Thanks in advance!

Eric Vogt

RandyBeamer
          Participant

OK..

There are many ways to skin this cat.

Bob put together a great article on tools…

I think you can find it under the “FAQ”  tab just under the top picture on this page

Get a pencil and a pad..start taking notes

You need basic tools to start, tweezers, ( both antimagnetic steel and brass..3A is a good size to start with ) screwdrivers, good lighting, a good loupe or two.

You do not have to spend a fortune. Don’t buy cheap, but don’t buy everything that Bergeon sells. You can upgrade tools as needed.

A clean surface in an area that you can keep ( relatively ) dust free.

You will want to eventually get into the Ultra Horology course…it’s excellent, and Bob is a really great teacher . ( He’s also a really nice guy BTW )

Keep the questions coming. I enjoy dragging others into this craft…