Home Forums General Discussion Forum How do you put together pendulum cogs from an automatic?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    rozeerox
    Participant

Right basically its an automatic wristwatch, i bought it for myself about 4 years ago. 2 yrs in, it stopped winding itself and has since sat in a drawer until i studied bobs videos :D
      It wouldnt let you wind it using the crown either, so i got it out took out the pendulum, and also underneath 1 bridge. This was a little stuck and it popped out on me and the springs skidded a few millimetres out of where they aught to be. now there is nothing to hold these cogs in place once you have them where you want them, so you literally have to screw on the bridge and see if it will let you wind it.
      now it lets me wind it, and it works! however, the cogs that sprang out are responsible for automatically winding the movement since they interact with the pendulum. and now iv been trying half the night and i cant get the springs in the right order or the right way so that it will wind itself. somebody please help!!!!!!

rozeerox
      Participant

heres a picture of what the automatic ratchet (at least i think thats what its called…) looks like.
        Now can someone please tell me how to get the cogs iv pointed to in red in the right setting so that it will work? any help would be much appriciated :)

david pierce
        Participant

Rozeerox,