Home Forums General Discussion Forum How Do I "RUB" in a jewel?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    dutyswatchandclock
    Participant

Hi my name is Mark, and I’m fairly new to watch repairing, my grandfather was a master of over 50 years, but unfortunately passed away when I was 8 so I never got to learn from him, anywho I have a customers old 18S Waltham pocket watch from around 1901, and there is a shattered (top) balance jewel in a gold and brass setting
      The cap jewel is fine, but the hole jewel is broken.
      QUESTION 1,
      What is the best way to measure the inside of the setting hole to get the circumference of the jewel to be replaced.

QUESTION 2,
      Whats the best way to measure, to get the hole size of the jewel for the pivot.

QUESTION 3 (sorry its such a big post)

What measuring system are jewels measured in?

AAANNNDD QUESTION 4…..
      How do I replace such jewel into the setting after I get the proper jewel, and also a good selction of books to help me out please
      sorry that’s a big request from me, but answering that for me would help me out so much, thanks you
      Mark.

stevefitzwater
      Participant

Books, Chicago School of Watchmaking, Bulova School of Watchmaking (both available on line or can be purchased online). Donald DeClare books are a great source.

As far as the dimensions for the jewels, you can pick up Material Lists from most manufactures, so are free online, some you can purchase for nominal fees, just search for Waltham Material Catalogue on google.

If you give me your serial number, I can look it up in my Walthams Material book, and get you the information you require.

As far as replacing the jewel, one of the solutions is to purchase a parts movement identical to your movement, then take the jewel out of the parts movement.

dutyswatchandclock
        Participant