Home Forums General Discussion Forum greeting from a newbie plus two questions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    pocketwatchbro
    Participant

Hello everyone! I am new to watch repair, just started watching Bob’s videos and found he’s showing much more useful information than i could ever gotten from any websites… surprised me a lot that i learned about watch repair from others’ instruction were actually WRONG…! Starting to appreciate Bob so much because i realized already for a fact that i won’t be sending more of my precious pocket watches for POINTLESS SERVICES when they are not gonna make any better… and here are my first two questions, is using coleman fuel any good for cleaning a watch? if not, what should be the proper solvant to use? Also, i was curious what would cause the tilting of a balance wheel? I sent my Hamilton 940 to a watchmaker for service and i noticed the balance is tilting when swinging, so i made a stupid dicision to just take the balance wheel off the plate when the watch was running, and found a little piece of tinfoil underneath the balance cock, i though that was what caused the tilting of the balance wheel so i removed that piece of tinfoil and simply put the balance cock back onto the plate, afterward the balance would still swing freely but only when facing down, when i have the watch in different positions(i.e. face up, crown up), the balance would run either much slower or completely stops. Please help! I’m having thousands of questions but i think i should really take em’ step by step… my sincere appreciation to whoever willing to help with my confusion… Thanks!

(Haven’t figure out how to attach a loupe to the camera, sorry for not being able to attach a pic)

Yuxiang

oldmantime
      Participant

Hello Yuxlang,