Home Forums General Discussion Forum French Clock

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    estanek70
    Participant

I have been asked by an antique dealer that I work with to install a missing pendulum on a Frech clock. The movement is mounted in what looks like a vase. The movement is 3 inches in diameter and the pendulum hangs on a loop of string that is mounted on a post that extends from the back plate off the movement. I have found a length and weight that alllows the clock to run in beat through trial and error but I cannot figure out how to adjust the beat. The crutch extends through the back of the case but I cannot get to the verge without taking off the back plate. Since I have never worked on a french clock before, I am reluctant to do this. Does anyone have any info on how to adjust the beat on this type clock? Thanks for any help you can provide.

Ed Stanek

Bob Tascione

Hi Ed,