Home Forums General Discussion Forum Dirty Ingraham

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    disciple_dan
    Participant

Hey, Y’all.
      I have a really gummed up couple great wheels in this Ingraham I’m working on. The worst I’ve seen. I think I’m going to have to take it apart to clean it all out. Any suggestions?

disciple_dan
      Participant

I’m scared to death. I have never used a lathe before. I watched William Porter’s video on a great wheel click repair and I think I need to remove this wheel in the same manner.
        I’m posting pics of the graver I’m using. It has a negative rake on 3 sides. I think it’s the right one. I have the wheel chucked up and the tool in position to start the cut.
        Just wanted some assurance. I won’t hold anyone responsible if it turns out wrong.
        Any comments, cautions or warnings are gladly welcomed.
        Thanks, Danny

willofiam

Dan, if you have not used a lathe before then I would suggest practicing on a piece of brass or any other softer material, plastic? get the feel of how it cuts and how to set up your cutting tool. GO SLOW, all you need to do is knock down the punched over areas on the collar to be able to release the tension washer and take the great wheel and arbor apart.

disciple_dan
          Participant

William, Thank God, Please stay with me here for just a couple post.
            I took this subject and pics over to NAWCC to try to get some help. I know you’re a busy man and unable to stay on the watch for people that need help.
            So, Do you agree I have the arbor and cutting tool set up correctly?
            On the NAWCC they are telling me to turn the wheel around and cut the other side off. There’s no washer, nothing penned on anything. It looks to me like on that side, the shoulder is on the arbor and the wheel is pressed against it.