Home Forums General Discussion Forum Clock and Watch Question:

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    ralberto2001
    Participant

Hi, Everyone!
      I am new to clocks in that all I have so far is knowledge. I am getting some tools and setup with a place to work
      then I want to get started practising what I have learned.
      I took Bob’s Course on clocks and studyed John topes videos from ticktock productions and have books.
      Of course I will be rewatching these wonderful videos when I get started Iam sure.

My Question is: When I get better and people hear that I work on clocks
      Does a person have to be certified to work on clocks or watches? Say like Certified from the AWCI or a similar place?

Thanks, Richard

willofiam

Welcome Richard, Where about in the world are you from? William

chris mabbott
        Participant

@Ralberto2001 wrote:

My Question is: When I get better and people hear that I work on clocks
          Does a person have to be certified to work on clocks or watches? Say like Certified from the AWCI or a similar place?

Thanks, Richard

Welcome Richard, I and I’m sure we, will be looking forward to seeing your first and forthcoming projects.
          If you need any help just ask and keep in mind that to help us, to help you, photos always tell a better story 8-)

My answer to your question is this : As far as i know, if you are working on clocks or watches that are not restricted by the manufacturers warranty, to only their certified repair people, then there is really no need.
          There is nothing wrong with certification, but the best form of certification you can have is that which comes from the lips of your VERY satisfied clients. :)

bernie weishapl
          Participant