Home Forums General Discussion Forum Chinese Lathes

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    wcloake3
    Participant

I saw a thread from Bernie about Taig lathes and Chris popped in a suggestion about the chinese ones. I am new to all this and I need lots of tools. I need a lathe now and the used stuff us out of sight, I have lost a couple bids. I am looking at the chinese lathes. I can afford one and have a little left over for everything else I gleaned from watching the course.

Right now I have 30-35 clocks that need repair. most need the movements deep cleaned, I have fixed all the ones that oiling would fix. It seems cleaning I need to turn pivots, etc. I probably will not go the step of making my own gears, my thought is to farm that level work out. Will I get a useful start out of a chinese lathe. I would expect to upgrade later and that is OK. I am an old engineer with lots of too experience and am used to buying pretty good quality tools. I just need a jump start.

Thanks. I bought the course last Saturday and had watched it all once through by Sunday, I thought I was hooked before…….

bernie weishapl
      Participant