Home Forums General Discussion Forum Brocot escapement repair – help!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    msp2502
    Participant

Hi All
      Well I`ve been lucky so far in that all my non running clock purchases have required no more than dismantling the movement cleaning and putting back together.Recently I bought an Ansonia slate clock with open escapement, it looks a great clock BUT both the pallet stones were snapped off . Now I am a novice , no lathe or expensive tools just small toolbox and lot of enthusiasm. I suspect this is a repair beyond my abilities but have been reading a lot and I think understand the basics of what needs doing.
      Has anyone replaced these ” stones” , I read they can be carnelian or steel but can only see the stone ones for sale at a rather expensive price – can you but steel ones anywhere cheaply so I can give it a go.
      Moving on , I understand you set the stones in shellac. Can anyone give an idiots guide step by step how to do this – how do you heat the shellac ? do you put shellac on rear of the holder or front to hold the stone ? if you need to slightly tweak the stone how do you heat it to make it workable.
      Thanks for any suggestions .
      Malcolm

Bob Tascione

Hi Malcolm,
        I don’t know offhand where steel pallets are available now. Maybe someone up here has a source? I know that Timesavers carries the jewel type. When ordering from Timesavers you can use a numbered drill set to determine the diameter that you’ll need by choosing a drill that just fits into the jewel hole in the anchor. Then order using that drill number.