Home Forums General Discussion Forum Beginner’s question about tool sharpening

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    [email protected]
    Participant

These questions are either for Bob or someone else on the forum who uses the watchmaker’s lathe and good quality screwdrivers and knows the importance of tool sharpness. I am an absolute beginner and I am doing the online courses a bit and a piece at a time. I went through the watchmaking courses once and I am an animal of habit, I will re-run the lessons many many times. Right now I am looking at the first lathework lesson and have just seen the sequence where Bob is sharpening the graver. I know the importance of keeping lathe tools sharp from my high school days working on 10″ and 12″ engine lathes. I know the importance of keeping screwdrivers not only sharp but shaped correctly by the number of screw heads I have ruined over the years trying to use screwdrivers with compromised shapes, sizes and degrees of sharpness.

Here are some questions and where possible I would like to get a recommendation of brand or specific type or composition and if you know a good place to buy these that will save searching…

Question #1: What kind of stone is best for sharpening good quality watch screwdrivers? (I have Horotecs)

Question #2: What kind of sharpening guide tools should I round up for screwdrivers?

Question #3: What kind of stone is best for sharpening tool-steel gravers?

Question #4: I saw the sharpening guide for gravers used in the lathe lesson, who makes it/who has it?

Thanks in advance…

Bob Tascione

Great and very important questions Dkrugler!