Home Forums General Discussion Forum Basic Toools

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    jaymac
    Participant

I am totally new to the Clock Course and am wanting to know what tool I should buy (preferably used) for dealing with mainsprings? I understand there are different types of tools for this purpose. I would appreciate and advice anybody is willing to give me regarding this subject.

Thanks in advance.

Jaymac

Bob Tascione

Welcome to the forum Jaymac!
        I love the Ollie Baker type mainspring winder that I use in the course videos. My favorite! They are more expensive than most others though so would depend on how much you can or want to spend. I don’t see them for sale used often if at all but I’m guessing they do surface up on eBay at times. Let’s see what other members suggest.
        Hope this helps!
        Bob

willofiam

Hey Jaymac, welcome. I also use the Ollie baker mainspring winder, when I first started I made a winder, it sort of worked, found the idea on the web. I continued to search for one and I knew that the Ollie baker would be the one I would want. In a unlikely place I finally found one for around $70, If you are planning to do many clocks the mainspring winder is an important tool to have for ease of use and safety. Sorry I cannot comment on the other styles of winders. Have fun, William

david pierce
          Participant

Jay,
            Go to the BOARD INDEX and take a look at the shop pictures. You can get a good idea of the tools they use from their shop photographs.
            david

jaymac
            Participant

My thanks to Bob Tascione, willofiam and david pierce for their welcome and suggestions. It looks like the Ollie Baker is the way to go. You have my appreciation.

Jaymac

arutha
              Participant