Home Forums General Discussion Forum Anchor Pallet jewel setting problems

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    derekas
    Participant

Learn by your mistakes comes to mind and I made two bad mistakes. I have taken apart and cleaned a english pocket watch and all went well until I noticed that one of the anchor pallet jewels was chipped although working. I heated the pallet to make the shellac soft to remove it and in the process of removing it I increased thew damaged jewel. The second mistake was I moved the other jewel. Now having lost the settings and with only one usable jewel and coupled with the fact that I have never worked on a Anchor pallet jewel before, it was going to be in a steep learning curve., The problem I have is two fold. The only replacement jewels I can purchase (ebay) in the UK are either too small or to large. I have tried to get a setting with a smaller jewel but I have to shellac for ever adjustment. Although this is good training it is taking a long time to say the least between every try at a setting.Therefore I have two questions.
      Is rubbing in a jewel about making a jewel that is to large into the correct size and if so how do I do this.
      Secondly I am completely confused as to what the setting should be and to what way the end angle of the jewel should face.

arutha
      Participant

Hi Derek,
        I can only answer one of your questions, rubbed in jewels are only in the plates of a watch, this does not refer to reducing their size, just the fitting type.