Home Forums General Discussion Forum Alcohol lamp…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    tmac1956
    Participant

All:
      I’m using denatured alcohol in my alcohol lamp, but I’m wondering if I should be using rubbing alcohol in the device instead. Denatured alcohol burns pretty hot. Should I be using something like rubbing alcohol instead?
      Thanks,
      tm

david pierce
      Participant

Tom,
        Denatured alcohol is ethanol with some extremely poisonous chemicals added to it. This could include formaldehyde, MEK, benzine, acetone and any number of other chemicals that they want to get rid of. It might be healthier to burn straight ethanol plus you can always put a little aside for drinking purposes.
        david

namonllor1953
        Participant

Hi Tom,
          I’ve been using denatured alcohol in my lamps for about 12 years now. When I’m straightening bamboo nodes, it’s a job of at least an hour run at a time. I’ve never had any problems with anything catching fire. My lamps are also made of metal.

tmac1956
          Participant

David

Drinking is a good thing!

Later,
            Tom

bernie weishapl
            Participant

I have been using denatured alcohol in my alcohol lamps for 30 yrs or so. I think rubbing alcohol has to much water in it. Never tried it so don’t know. Don’t use moonshine or grain alcohol because it is a waste to burn when you can drink it. 😆

arutha
              Participant

I also use denatured alcohol but it is known as methylated spirits this side of the pond. From what I have read on the net it is safe to use but just be sensible and make sure you have a window open or some ventilation. I don’t have windows open in my workshop in the winter but then its only me in my workshop and as it burns such a small amount and is not on for long I have never had a problem.
                Paul.

chris mabbott
                Participant