Home Forums General Discussion Forum Crisp and sharp pics. Reply To: Crisp and sharp pics.

ewinrow
Participant

Hey Chris, I have a real problem child on my bench now. It’s a Hermle Grandfather wall clock, with an 8 Day movement and Westminster chime. When I received it the chains, weights and pendulum were removed for shipping. Understandable, but not to mention the grief I suffered just to get the chains re-ran and when weights were applied the pendulum WILL NOT continue to swing. Gains about two minuets and then stops. As you can see the movement is filthy :(

A beautiful looking clock but I can just feel the problems building as I tear it down. I am taking my time on it as I study it daily, I have very little experience on this type of movement and kind of feel like a doctor working on a car. intimidated :? Why the three winding wheels and the third wheels job is what :? Also I sat it to 12:00 to see if it would chime :?: :?: :?: NOPE….. :( I can already see parts laying everywhere upon tear down. 😳 What can you tell me about this movement, if anything at all?